Sometimes you may have separate cards about the same topic.

For example, conversations with different points of contact in the same company, but all about the same deal. Or conversations from multiple customers reporting the same issue that your technical team needs to resolve.

In those cases, you may want to merge cards so that all context is in one card. This article explains how to do it and how merged cards work.

You can merge either emails or task cards, or group emails and task cards together.

How to merge cards

To merge cards together:

Click and hold the card you want to be merged.
Press and hold the SHIFT key. A message "Merging cards enabled" will be displayed on the bottom left of your screen.
Hover and hold the card to be merged onto another one until a blue border appears.
Drop the card to be merged and then release the SHIFT key.



How merged cards are displayed on boards

A chain icon on the bottom right of a merged card will indicate how many cards are merged.

You can click on the chain icon to expand the merged card (and view all cards inside it) or collapse it to save space in your board.



Parent card vs child cards

The top one of the merged cards is defined as the parent card, and the remaining ones are defined as child cards. The parent card defines the following:

When collapsing a merged card, the title of the parent card will be the overall title displayed. Here's how to rename a card.
When moving a parent card from or within a board (including the actions archive, delete, move across columns, move across boards or move to a Gmail folder), the entire merged card (including the child cards) will be moved.
When moving a child card from or within a board (including the actions archive, delete, move across columns, move across boards or move to a Gmail folder), only that specific child card will be moved.

How merged cards work

Merged cards are independent from each other. This means that each card that is merged can still have their own titles, assignees, tags, due dates, colors, etc.
When applying due dates, assignments, color code or tags to any card that is merged (parent or child), those actions will be applied only to the selected card(s).
Users can only move merged cards to Gmail folders when they have permissions to so on all cards that are merged. Read more about these permissions here.
Filters (and sub-boards) will detect the entire merged card if any of the cards inside it applies to that filter (e.g. filtering by "unread" will return a merged card if 1 or more cards that are merged are unread).
The same as above applies for the search function.

What if a merged card receives a new reply?

Regardless of which card receives a new reply (parent or child), a merged card will behave like a normal card in this situation: it will be moved to the top, the new reply will get bold and, depending on your board set up, be moved back to the first column.
If the new reply is received in a child card, that specific card will be moved to the 2nd position (immediately below the parent card) and the merged card will be also automatically expanded, so that users can view the new reply from their board view.



How to un-merge cards

To un-merge cards:

Click on the chain icon on the bottom right to expand the view.
Select the card(s) to be un-merged and simply drag it out of the merged card.

Still need help? Our team will love to help at support@dragapp.com.
Was this article helpful?
Cancel
Thank you!